Please find the draft programme below. Speakers and panels will be added to the programme as and when confirmed. Keep an eye on this page for updates!




Networking breakfast

Business leaders’ breakfast (on invitation only)


Participants move into the Europe room


Political Leaders Plenary Session

  • Welcome & introduction by Emma Marcegaglia
    President of BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Keynote address by Jean-Claude Juncker
    President of the European Commission
  • Keynote address by Li Keqiang
    Prime Minister of the People’s Republic of China
  • Closing remarks by Jiang Zengwei
    Chairman of the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT)


Trade Session (tbc)

  • Speech by Cecilia Malmström (tbc)
    Commissioner for Trade of the European Commission
  • Speech by Zhong Shan (tbc)
    Minister of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China


Business Leaders Plenary Session

  • Speech by Emma Marcegaglia
    President of BUSINESSEUROPE
  • Speech by Jiang Zengwei
    Chairman of the China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT)
  • Speech by Mats Harborn
    President of the EU Chamber of Commerce in China
  • Speech by Jochum S. Haakma
    Chairman of the EU-China Business Association

CEO panel discussion (focusing on the trade and investment links between Europe and China and the way in which this can strengthen the global trading system)

  • Chen Han, CEO of CEINEX
  • Philippe Varin, Chairman of Areva
  • Chen Feng, President of the HNA Group
  • Lin Chuxue, Executive Vice President, China Three Gorges Corporation

Moderator: Ms. Shada Islam


Networking lunch

Business leaders’ lunch (on invitation only)


1st Business Leaders Thematic Session

The Digital Economy (focusing on internet of things/5G/Manufacturing 4.0)

  • Tong Wen, Chief Technology Officer of Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.
  • Alex Tomb, Vice President Global Regulatory Affairs, BT
  • Li Jianhua, Chief Development Officer of Didi Chuxing
  • Massimo Bagnasco, Vice President of the EU Chamber of Commerce in China

Moderator: Mr. Martin Potts


2nd Business Leaders Thematic Session

Climate & Sustainability

  • Introductory speech by Dominique Ristori Director General for Energy, European Commission
  • Chen Bin, CFO of China Guodian Corporation
  • Emmanuel Tuchscherer, Director European Affairs, ENGIE
  • Lei Xianzhang, Director General of State Grid Co. European Representative Office and Managing Director of SGRI Europe GmbH of State Grid Corporation of China
  • Vincent Mages, Deputy Director European and International Affairs, Air Liquide
  • Yang Xiaozhong, Chief Branding Officer of Trina Solar Ltd.

Moderator: Mr. John Scowcroft


3rd Business Leaders Thematic Session

EU-China Connectivity

  • Mikko Turtiainen, Vice President Global Sales, Finnair
  • Sun Jie, CEO of
  • Frank Geerkens, Port Ambassador, Port of Antwerp
  • Li Haifeng, Senior Vice President of Fosun Group
  • Alessandro Carano, Cabinet Expert, Cabinet of Commissioner Violeta Bulc for Transport

Moderator: Ms Shada Islam


Closing address

  • Closing address by Richard Weber, President of Eurochambres


Networking reception


End of the EU-China Business Summit